Puff. Rice. Crunch.

So I have a new obsession.  wait for it.  Puffed Brown Rice. :)  It’s so airy and care free that I find myself wanting to include it with everything!  Not to mention the crunch, and who doesn’t like a good crunch now and again?

Today’s Breakfast was another Pomegranate Spinach Smoothie..with a side cup of puffed rice :D

Pomegranate Spinach Smoothie
Ingredients:
1 tbsp of ground flax
lots of cinnamon
1 frozen banana
two large handfuls of fresh spinach
4-6 ounces pomegranate kefir
spoonful of peanut butter
and blenddd.
Topped with some cacao nibs and copious amounts of puffed brown rice.  Delish.

Lunch today was another trip to metro fresh, where I had a divine sugar plum salad.  TONS of fresh chopped plums with walnuts, celery, and basil in an orange maple vinaigrette.  omg.  This deserves the honored title of party in your mouth.  A glorious fruit salad!

This was followed by a chicken and farfalle pasta salad in a basil pesto with corn and peas.  This was good but very skimpy on the pasta with way too much chicken.  Ah well.  The basil infused meal was pretty good and I even had some left for dinner ;)

Before Monday night dancing [it's called Hot Jam on Monday nights(!)]  Their was an array of snack-mania.

Peanut Butter and the new addition to my fridge, the godly raspberry jam, on a cinnamon TJ graham cracker.  This Jelly is like a drug, no joke.

Then I decided to use the last of my pomegranate kefir [tear] on a bowl of surreal awesome-ness.

Base: A broken TJ cinnamon graham cracker, then piles of puffed brown rice, a tbsp of peanut butter, a sprinkle of chia seeds, a dash of cacao nibs (can you dash cacao nibs?) and the biggest spoonful of raspberry jam.  This resulted in the biggest food induced smile ever.  Beautiful.

- Jam of the gods -

Jam before Hot Jam :D

Then their was some Trader Joe’s Roasted rosemary pecans and cranberries.  I bought this after seeing a sale ad for it online and it is quite good to say the least.

There are actually sprigs of rosemary all throughout this trail mix which makes it quite intoxicating.  It reminds me of the fish my mom would always marinate with rosemary from her garden growing up.  <3.

This would be even more fabulous if made in my own kitchen, can you imagine the smell of roasting nuts and rosemary wafting out of your oven as the cooler days are looming ever closer?

Alas when I am reunited with a kitchen this can be a reality.

Before running of to dance I grabbed one of these sample bags I snagged at whole foods this past weekend.

Great, as always.  I wasn’t expecting them to be as spicy as they were, but a lovely kick ;)

Song of the day – “Help I’m Alive” by Metric.

This band is my new obsession.

Question: Since PP & J is one of my favorite foods, does anyone have a specific way they enjoy this combo?  Anything out of the ordinary?

One comment


Leave a Reply

