Drinking Kale … For the Very First Time

After my lunch, breakfast I decided to make a Green Monster.  Now, so far I have only been using spinach but I’ve read so many stories of venturing past the now seemingly common veggie to more adventurous greens.  KALE.  Now I know this doesn’t seem that out there to some but for me it is a first.  I had no idea how it was going to turn out.  I also used some of my fresh fruits, a.k.a. raspberries, strawberries, and some banana.  And WAIT, another first here, raw cacao nibs.  These were my recent splurge from whole foods and I was itching to try ’em out.

Kale Green Monster:

1 tbsp chia seeds
lots of cinnamon
2 large handfuls of ripped up kale
2 large frozen strawberries
1/2 frozen banana
handful of raspberries
about 8oz unsweetened vanilla almond milk
topped with a spoonful of almond butter and cacao nibs.

I blended this all together in my magic bullet and was surprised by the taste.  It was very refreshing.  I will definitely be using kale more often.  Topped with a bit of almond butter and some cacao nibs was a crunchy creamy energy concoction!  Only problem was that the bottom pieces of the kale did not blend very well.  Do you remove more of the stem?  Or maybe my magic bullet is aging…

Along with the kale GM I tried one of the new larabar flavors: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip.  Oh.  My.  Goodness.  Best yet, I am in Love.  I ate half and put other half in freezer for an amazing snack tomorrow.  If you haven’t tried the new flavors yet you need to.  NOW.  😀

For dinner I met my Grandma for pizza!

A wonderful greek salad + tomato, tofu, pesto pizza.  Doesn’t that combo make your mouth water?  And good news is there are leftovers for tomorrow.

2 comments

  1. Mmm…I love kale in my green monsters. So delicious. My blender is not the greatest, and I tend to remove the tough stem in order for it to fully grind up. 😉

    Love the addition of almond butter on top!! Definitely doing that the next time I make myself one. 😀

    • Thanks! I will definitely be removing more of the stem next time 🙂
      and it turned out well with almond butter on top instead of blended in.
      There would be random bursts of creaminess that made for a great surprise.
      😉


Leave a Reply

