Pont du Gard

Following Nimes was…  Pont du Gard.

This place was breath~taking.  When this ancient Roman structure came into view I went off into the deep end like a crazy tourist.  Taking pictures like this was the last moment I would ever have a camera in my possession.  I didn’t post them all, and picked a top few for my sanity.  I don’t want to think about when I see the Eiffel Tower next week…

The Pont du Gard is an ancient Roman aqueduct bridge that crosses the Gard River in Southern France.  It was built in the first century AD and is the highest of all Roman aqueduct bridges.

We were there in the late afternoon as the sun was beginning to come down.  Making the clear cold water come alive with reflective light.  Yes I got in that overly lit water.  YES it was freezing.  But freezing in a ‘this is one of the most beautiful moments of my life’ kind of ways.

I want to come back here again some day ~

8 comments

  1. Oh, gorgeous! I have a thing for old ruins (especially old Roman ruins scattered across Europe :)), and this is breathtaking! The 2nd from bottom one has such beautiful light.


Leave a Reply

