Pad Thai

It’s Thai Time…  Get your fish sauce ready ~

Pad Thai time in fact.

I worked for over two years in high school with a lady from Thailand who owned a local restaurant.  I never realized how good I had it.  I went from not knowing the first thing about the cuisine {I actually pronounced the name like the upper part of a human leg} you can go ahead and forget said previous statement, to showing up for an authentic meal almost everyday.  I learned way more then expected with a simple waitressing job about food pairings and the health benefits of Thai food.

To this day it is my favorite and I am always aspiring to consume as much Thai food as I did during my high-school days.

We begin with the rice noodle.  Cook according to directions on package and set aside.  I soaked mine for around eight minutes in hot water, drained, then set aside.

Mince 2 garlic cloves, 4 or 5 green onions, and cube firm tofu.

In a wok or large frying pan on high heat add 2 tbsp of oil {I used grapeseed} minced garlic, green onions, and tofu.  Stir fry everything until cooked through, 5 – 10 mins.  Set aside, I poured the tofu mixture into a large bowl and re-used the same pan, in which I added another tbsp of oil and two eggs.  Scramble eggs then reduce the heat to low and add the cooked noodles and sauce {recipe below}.  Mix well, add tofu mixture, mix, add fresh bean sprouts, and toss again.  Top with a large handful of crushed peanuts, cilantro, and a fat wedge of lime.

For the Sauce:

In a small bowl mix 4tbsp lime juice with 3 tbsp fish sauce.  If you are not up with converting x-amount of limes into 4tbsp juice or are in a hurry bottled lime juice will do the job nicely.  Mix in roughly 3 tbsp of sugar and a good sprinkling of pepper flakes or crushed chilies.  I like to mix in chopped cilantro into my sauce and fresh chopped Thai chilies if I have them on hand.  Makes a great dipping sauce for cold vegetable rolls as well.

I served everything on top of a bed of baby spinach.  Getting in those veggies ;)

Talk about all sorts of insane-deliciousness at once.

The sauce is very thin and light, not your average thick and sticky pad thai sauce, which was my favorite part.

Pad Thai Ingredients:

8 oz. rice noodles

3 tbsp oil of choice

2 garlic cloves

green onion

package of firm tofu

2 eggs

1 cup fresh bean sprouts

large handful of fresh cilantro

4 ounces crushed roasted peanuts {more or less depending on your personal preference}

1 lime cut into wedges

fresh spinach

Pad Thai Sauce:

4 tbsp lime juice {fresh or bottles}

3 tbsp fish sauce

2.5-3 tbsp sugar

crushed chilies or pepper flakes

~


One comment


Leave a Reply

