Pesto Pasta with Caramelized Onions & Veggies

Pasta. Plain. & Simple.

Pesto Pasta with Caramelized Onions & Veggies

Cooking for one on the go can be a bit of a challenge at times. I am not proud of my canned soup habit….but I will not deny the numerous nights a can of vegetable lentil with a bit of soft cheese stirred in makes its way onto my table. TONIGHT, however, it is all about the pasta. Pasta is delicious and extremely versitle. You can do almost anything with it.

This pasta dish is simple, quick, and great for a tasty/creative meal for one (or two).

My add-ins: onion, peas, broccoli, olives, and tomato.

Lets start with an onion ~

Chop half an onion, I used a yellow and love my onions chopped thin & lengthwise.

With a little garlic and olive oil I sauteed my chopped onion until it became caramel in color and a bit sticky (mmmmm)

While your onions are cooking boil a pot of water and cook your pasta accordingly. I used a whole wheat spaghetti that was perfect after ten minutes, I suggest checking so you don’t overcook. What makes this recipe great is using what you have on hand. Any veggies will do and I had a bag of frozen broccoli and peas at my disposal. After my pasta had been cooking for a few minutes I dumped my frozen vegetables into the pot as well.

When the PASTA is ready drain everything into a strainer then pour back into the pot. Add a chopped tomato, black olives, and a good spoonful or two of pesto. STIR. Serve along side an arugula salad. Some goat cheese and crusty bread would pair well. And you have yourself a tasty and quick meal for one(or two).

~

3 comments

  1. Ymmmmmmmm, can it be made for 1, 2 or Three??????
    nice shot of the split bowls…..get the word out, nyc needs a apt bound southern girl perspective to blog ’bout food in the city!


Leave a Reply

