Soup & Biscuits

On a Chilly Winters Night

On a chilly Friday evening I invited a friend over for dinner where we shared soup and biscuits. I can’t think of anything better… Taking inspiration from two of my favorite food bloggers: Roost & Cannelle e Vanille

A leek, fennel, & watercress soup accompanied by rosemary & almond meal biscuits came into  being.

I actually had to look up the proper technique for chopping a leek. I was a first timer, with about every ingredient in this soup, but now when someone asks I can say “of course I can clean and cut a leek” (a very superior feeling).

The delightful licorice tast and smell of fennel was also a pleasant surprise. Not having a grinder on hand I bashed the seeds a bit with the end of a wooden spoon and threw them in the pot. I am still around to tell the tale..But I am sure the flavor is bit enhanced when freshly ground.

I have been doing a lot of reading lately to do with a grain-free lifestyle. Much of what I have been finding is quite intriguing and has gotten me on the nut meal/flour train for a bit. So far I am hooked and am loving the array of new and healthy flavors.

The biscuits took a total of 5 mins to mix all the ingredients together and throw in the oven, I ended up making mine as a loaf but will be taking the time to divide them in the future, my dinner guest liked them almost more then the soup. They also made a lovely breakfast accompanied with a bit of jam and fresh fruit.

recipes can be found here:

soup

biscuits

One comment


Leave a Reply

