Apple Tarts

Apple Tarts

I picked up the cookbook, La Tartine Gourmande, a couple weeks ago and am obsessed. I am constantly finding myself flipping through its beautiful pages wondering what I will make next. I have mentioned this before but this book speaks to me, I am in love with everything from the recipes to the images. The one recipe I couldn’t wait to try is Bea’s take on the apple tart. With a strong taste of lemon, spicy ginger, walnuts, and sweet pink lady apple on a thin crumbly crust there is no way one can go wrong.

As spring approaches I am finding myself cooking more with apples and roots, funny the foods you can crave sometimes. I Experimented with a celeriac apple soup earlier this week with hints of sweet potato (also inspired from La Tartine Gourmande)

But lets get back to these delicious tarts. They are supposed to be made into a larger size, so the apple can be fully fanned out. Is anyone else an admirer of fanned food? You can slice almost any ingredient paper thin, fan it out on a plate, and you are instantly a food style master. Try it sometime. Due to a lack of baking supplies I ended up baking my tarts in various sized muffin tins. I thoroughly enjoyed ending up with a large plate full of mini-apple-tartlets.

Apple Tarts ~ {From La Tartine Gourmande, Recipes for an Inspired Life}

I ended up using more almond flour and less sugar. I highly recommend picking up this book…Even if just to make a plate full of apple-tartlets.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

