A Rhubarb Fool

I have been away for a bit longer then favorable. Summer can do that to a person. IF you can call the weather in NYC summer, I think we had a few days of it….somewhere….lost amongst the rain, lightening storms, fog, and chilly winds most likely. Not letting this get in the way, however, I am still very much in a sunny mood. Promise. So lets get down and dirty and shall I say ‘foolish‘ with this lovely summer treat.

This recipe is from Laura at thefirstmess. I love every single one of her recipes and her photography is all sorts of crazy awesome. I might even go as far as to say I have a bit of food-blog-crush going on. Yes food-obbsessed people should know what I am talking about…when good recipes and pictures combine I hear angels sing….

…..But Back to the Fool. This is basicly a very tart rhubarb compote. Can you believe this was my first time ever trying rhubarb? It will not be the last. I layered mine with yogurt and paired it with banana coconut bread in the morning. It would be great on ice cream and probably a million other tasty combinations.

Click here for the original link.

Combine the chopped rhubarb (only the pink pieces), orange juice, cardamon, and ginger in a sauce pan and cook over medium heat for around fifteen minutes until the rhubarb has broken down and the fool will resembles a compote. Use more/less honey or other liquid sweetener depending on your own level for sweetness. The link above goes into detail on why this dish is called a fool.

Go let yourself loose in these summer days. Be Foolish.

Leave a Reply

